My Connect 2016 Story Day 1 and a half

c

My Connection 2016 Story Day 1 and a half
Alright Boys and Girls this isn’t a technical break down of what happened @ connect because there are a lot of other bloggers who are much smarter than me who have already taken care of that. This is basically my story of Connect and the adventure that transpired.
Before I begin let set the scene. I am the Dev and admin so I get blamed for everything. That being said I missed Connect last year because I just became a dad again and I have stopped drinking the Lotus koolaid for a while.

kool

Probably  due to several issues that I felt were never properly resolved by IBM and for the first time in my life I had two projects fail and to make it worse they were back to back due to technical issues beyond my control  so let just say I was not a fan of IBM. To make it worse I was having a mid life crisis and had just began to question my career choice/options.  And just before I left for Connect I read an overly critical doomsday email from one of my Favorite bloggers which echoed and reinforced my current sentiments even more. (Peter, by any chance did you take the wrong pill that day? After Connect I don’t think it is as bad as you think it is, also I never tried it but I heard the reviews for the blue pill are pretty good.)

v

With that mindset I printed my unresolved PMRs and screen captured my current issues, in total 15 pages long and was fully prepared to go postal at the meet the Devs lab.

p

Next step I packed my bags hoped on a plane and headed to the Hilton.  First impression, this is a small venue, not sure I am going to get my money’s worth.  But all was soon forgotten as I had lunch by the pool which was refreshing followed by a quick nap, not cause I am old but it is new dad syndrome, sleep whenever possible.  Next I was off to get registered.  The registration process I found was very social and fun experience (IBM do not go back to the old method).  I could tell I was one of the first ones because me and the “ask me guy” were a little confused but he was a funny guy so all was fun.  I whipped out my QR code and he was shocked he never saw any one try that, and off I was, and then Boom, the first security question was the Name of your first Pet.  I was in deep trouble, cause I never had a pet.  I guess I did not pay much attention when I was filling that section out cause I thought I would not need it.  We both started laughing out loud when the correct answer to my first pet was my wife’s name.  I made the guy pinky promise to never mention this again and now I am really hoping my wife does not read this.d

Anyways next thing you know I got my badge, and I was really hoping my pic would be on it also since we did everything on the Ipad, maybe next year. Then thinks got awkward as I waited for my handbag and soon realized there was none. It was a little shocking but no biggy.  I did get a selfie stick Yeah!!!, perfect for any anti social guy not looking to make connections at connect!!  My only major issue with this is I missed the pocket calendar, and a small notebook to take notes.  Next time I will be prepared.  Also if customers are #1 why was our number 6 the last number on any badge?  Again no biggie.

Next was the Beer tasting, loved this event.  Beer will always be more social then IBM Connect and will always have more users.

20160130_222444

For those who could, the after beer party on the 17 floor, whoever room it was love you man!!!

After very few hours’ sleep I was up and started my day.  Was a bit disappointed that Customers had to scramble for their own meal and business partners got the deluxe treatment. Next up was the Jumpstarts at 1pm but there were no Domino Admin or Domino Dev sessions to start the conference was bummed about that.

But all was forgotten as I watched John Jardin rock his Blue Mix session, by far the presenter I enjoyed the most this year.  If you’re a Dev and you are not playing with Blue mix you are falling behind.  His Demo included Domino, twitter, Watson and taught Spanish.  All my doubt about my career options/choice and the future of IBM were answered (no blue pill needed 😉 ) And watching John do his Live Demos was even more impressive.

Here a quick pic of John when he is presenting blue mix, and looking supper kool.

f

Here a pic of John when he is not discussing Blue Mix, see how powerful Blue mix is!!

jj

Other Kool sessions that day had to be Paul Calhoun and his Elephant story.

ep

Next was the big show, at the Solution Expo, and I have to say IBM got it right the room size the cross traffic the little theater in the back, the snacks and coffee.  Everything was just right!!

The Welcome Reception was perfect good food and drinks and the Asponte Rocks @ the Lafayette Room rocked!!  Good band and Drinks who could ask for more!!  But most of all I loved the little party town with all the bars and clubs side by side.  This place was happening, who could ask for more!  Well I guess some of us could I ended up on the 17 floor for the after party once again.  I have no idea whose room it was but thanks again!!

All this crazy excitement and the conference technically still did not even begin, and I already got my moneys worth!!

Day 1 and a half and I had fun, I learned a few things, had a few drinks, made a few connections did a few stupid things and was truly inspired.  As much as I loved the swan and dolphin I did not miss it.  Nor would I want to go back.  I feel like the times have changed and so have we, no need to revisit the ghost of the past, because I for one am no longer looking in the past.  For the first time in a many years I have a lot of optimism, I am excited and I have a plan.  I will be mixing it up with blue mix and trying to make the impossible possible just like what this conference did to me.  I know it soundz like I had a few too many and I probably did.  But this is really how I feel.

Hope you enjoyed my Story so far, stay tuned to hear what happed next at the OGS, going Postal at the Dev labs and crashing 4 parties in one night.

Enjoy, sorry for the long post.

JT

4 thoughts on “My Connect 2016 Story Day 1 and a half

  1. John Jardin (@JohnJardinCodes)

    Mr Jalpresh. A great and entertaining review of your first stretch at IBM Connect. Thank you so much for the awesome mention of my session. I really do appreciate you and everyone who attended, making the time on their Sundays to hear me roar.

    I too missed IBM Connect last year, as my daughter was born on the 19th Jan. Congratulations and I’m sure the week away from your family was rough?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

